little soul

there's no such thing as a 'literal translation'

There is no such thing as a ‘literal translation.’

When I use the term, at least mostly, sometimes I do fall into the trap as well, I mean this is a barebones translation, this is a starting place, there is no effort here to make this sentence or line sound good and coherent.

But I think some people are actually expecting that there has been a perfect exchange between the two, that a literal translation, a perfect translation from one language to another can exist.

But I would argue that is basically impossible.

There is no such thing as an equivalent exchange in translation. The languages themselves are full of their own specific cultural influences, some of which cannot be translated effectively into another language. Additionally, any choice you make is completely full of your own biases and influences, and what you choose to focus on and highlight.

For example, when translating works in Ancient Greek and Latin, you could focus on how each word is translated, because there is a myriad of different meanings each word could take on (and that myriad could in fact be referenced by the author choosing to use that word in the first place). Or you could focus on word order and other aspects of poetic style, and whether it is important enough to the original text that something about it should be maintained. If I ever tried to translate the Aeneid, I think half of my efforts would be devoted to maintaining that aspect of the text because it is the most fascinating part of the poem to me personally. But that’s my own choice, my own focus, and doing so isn’t necessarily better or worse than someone who chooses another focus.

Translation above all has to be intentional and careful and attentive, because while it is impossible to have an equivalent exchange, a good translation still is able to give the reader some taste of the aspects of the original text.

And often the barebones version doesn’t even manage that, because all it’s paying attention to is the first instincts of how these words could be pieced together. It typically doesn’t take into account the original’s tone and voice, the rhythm and music of the lines. And those I would argue are even more important to the heart of the original than simply the words used.

~dys (wow, I wrote about translation again, what a surprise)

#analytical #reflection #translation #word vomit