little soul

translation of the proemium of Lysias 1

proemium of on the murder of eratosthenes

[translated by dys]

περὶ πολλοῦ ἂν ποιησαίμην, ὦ ἄνδρες, τὸ τοιούτους ὑμᾶς ἐμοὶ δικαστὰς περὶ τούτου τοῦ πράγματος γενέσθαι, οἷοίπερ ἂν ὑμῖν αὐτοῖς εἴητε τοιαῦτα πεπονθότες: εὖ γὰρ οἶδ᾽ ὅτι, εἰ τὴν αὐτὴν γνώμην περὶ τῶν ἄλλων ἔχοιτε, ἥνπερ περὶ ὑμῶν αὐτῶν, οὐκ ἂν εἴη: ὅστις οὐκ ἐπὶ τοῖς γεγενημένοις ἀγανακτοίη, ἀλλὰ πάντες ἂν περὶ τῶν τὰ τοιαῦτα ἐπιτηδευόντων τὰς ζημίας μικρὰς ἡγοῖσθε. καὶ ταῦτα οὐκ ἂν εἴη μόνον παρ᾽ ὑμῖν οὕτως ἐγνωσμένα, ἀλλ᾽ ἐν ἁπάσῃ τῇ Ἑλλάδι:

It is incredibly important to me, oh men, that you are the same type of jurors concerning this matter as you would be for yourselves, having undergone these things. For I know well that if you maintain the same opinion about others, as you hold about yourself, then there would be no one who would not be angered by what has occurred, but rather all of you would consider the punishments against those who commit such crimes to be absolutely trivial. And these things would not only be recognized among you like so, but in all of Greece.

περὶ τούτου γὰρ μόνου τοῦ ἀδικήματος καὶ ἐν δημοκρατίᾳ καὶ ὀλιγαρχίᾳ ἡ αὐτὴ τιμωρία τοῖς ἀσθενεστάτοις πρὸς τοὺς τὰ μέγιστα δυναμένους ἀποδέδοται, ὥστε τὸν χείριστον τῶν αὐτῶν τυγχάνειν τῷ βελτίστῳ: οὕτως, ὦ ἄνδρες, ταύτην τὴν ὕβριν ἅπαντες ἄνθρωποι δεινοτάτην ἡγοῦνται. περὶ μὲν οὖν τοῦ μεγέθους τῆς ζημίας ἅπαντας ὑμᾶς νομίζω τὴν αὐτὴν διάνοιαν ἔχειν, καὶ οὐδένα οὕτως ὀλιγώρως διακεῖσθαι, ὅστις οἴεται δεῖν συγγνώμης τυγχάνειν ἢ μικρᾶς ζημίας ἀξίους ἡγεῖται τοὺς τῶν τοιούτων ἔργων αἰτίους:

For, concerning this crime alone, both in democracy and oligarchy, the same right of vengeance is allowed to the very weak against the most strong, so one of the lowest reputation can get the same treatment as one of the best. Thus, oh men, every person considers this violation to be the most terrible of all. Concerning the size of the punishment, I think you all have the same opinion, and no one is so neglectfully disposed as to be one who thinks that it is necessary to obtain forgiveness or considers those guilty of such deeds as worthy of small punishments.

ἡγοῦμαι δέ, ὦ ἄνδρες, τοῦτό με δεῖν ἐπιδεῖξαι, ὡς ἐμοίχευεν Ἐρατοσθένης τὴν γυναῖκα τὴν ἐμὴν καὶ ἐκείνην τε διέφθειρε καὶ τοὺς παῖδας τοὺς ἐμοὺς ᾔσχυνε καὶ ἐμὲ αὐτὸν ὕβρισεν εἰς τὴν οἰκίαν τὴν ἐμὴν εἰσιών, καὶ οὔτε ἔχθρα ἐμοὶ καὶ ἐκείνῳ οὐδεμία ἦν πλὴν ταύτης, οὔτε χρημάτων ἕνεκα ἔπραξα ταῦτα, ἵνα πλούσιος ἐκ πένητος γένωμαι, οὔτε ἄλλου κέρδους οὐδενὸς πλὴν τῆς κατὰ τοὺς νόμους τιμωρίας.

But I think, oh men, that it is necessary for me to show how Eratosthenes had an affair with my wife and destroyed her and shamed my children and assaulted me by entering my house, and that there was no other animosity between me and him aside from this. I did not do these things because of money, so that I could be wealthy instead of poor, nor for any other gain than vengeance according to the law.

ἐγὼ τοίνυν ἐξ ἀρχῆς ὑμῖν ἅπαντα ἐπιδείξω τὰ ἐμαυτοῦ πράγματα, οὐδὲν παραλείπων, ἀλλὰ λέγων τἀληθῆ: ταύτην γὰρ ἐμαυτῷ μόνην ἡγοῦμαι σωτηρίαν, ἐὰν ὑμῖν εἰπεῖν ἅπαντα δυνηθῶ τὰ πεπραγμένα.

So I will show you all of my business from the beginning. I won’t leave anything out, and I will speak the truth. For I think this alone will be my deliverance: if I am able to tell you everything that has happened.

~Sometimes I get bored and do stuff like this for fun. It's odd, but I definitely enjoy the brain exercise. Also this text has fascinating insight about the Ancient Greek legal system and it's very dramatic and fun, so read it if you can!

#ancient greek #lysias #translation