little soul

fingernails

I painted my nails a few days ago. It had been quite a while. I’m not a person who has to have my nails painted consistently and I’m not deeply concerned with having them look nice. But I finally sat down and painted them. The color was a very light pearly pink, a favorite of mine. It’s nothing flashy, just something, something to have on there. It’s already peeling. I suppose half of that is the fault of the nail polish itself, it is rather old, but I’m also to blame. I can’t help but pick at it a little. It’s both sort of fun and one of my nervous habits, and honestly, it isn’t so bad. It redirects me from worse options.

One of these worse options is biting my nails. I’ve been a nail biter since I was a very small child, and even though there were times where I could stop for a while, I could never quite push past it. I guess I would like to, it seems a rather juvenile habit and makes my hands look, well, not great, with the nails small stumps of their real selves.

I’m hoping the polish will help a little. It usually does, but I don’t expect a miracle; I know breaking such a habit is a process, and that I’m stuck pretty deep within it. But I’ll keep trying, perhaps not consistently. But I will try. I can at least try.

~dys

#childhood #reflection